top of page

Simone Taylor x Tuesday Vtg

‘Yesterday is here’ is a stunning shoot by self proclaimed daydreamer and child of the mountains, Simone Taylor. The images capture the babely and ever so talented Sinead doing her thing at home. Complete with leaks of sunlight and glimpses of gold carried throughout the house. Simone paints a dreamy haze and leaves you with the sweet riffs of The Stones playing on repeat.

1. Tell us a little bit about yourself. - My name is Simone Taylor and I’m 25 years old. I Studied creative direction and work full-time as a graphic designer in menswear and spend every other moment being creative. Summer: Tequila + Disco + Beach - Winter: Whiskey + Drake + Cinema F.R.I.E.N.D.S (both meanings).. Muscle cars. I daydream when I walk. 2. What was your childhood like? Do you think your past experiences have influenced your present creative endeavours? - My childhood definitely influenced my creativity, my parents are very creative and open-minded - My memories are complete with a soundtrack of Bowie, Alice Cooper and The Rolling Stones. They weren’t super well off either, so I spent my time helping my dad build furniture for our house and finding cool clothes in Vinnies. We all played instruments (not in a family band kind of way) but I grew up in a small town at the top of the blue mountains so we could play music and practice till as late as we liked.

I think a lot of my drive has come from getting the most out of what you have, and learning to use your creative mind at all times… Even when it’s 2am and you have to work at 9am! 3. If you had the chance to live in a different artistic movement other than now, which one would you choose and why? - I would love to be 20 in the early 70’s. The chance to be there at the beginning of such an incredible period where creativity was being pushed by so many talented people in so many directions…. It would be incredible. Imagine working across music, film, magazines and photography with all the talents of the time.. 4. What do you think keeps your imagination from conforming to mainstream society? - Well… I’m a bit of a dork… Which is awesome. It forces me to embrace my differences. I also have a lot of strange objects/ books that I have collected over time that tend keep me away from mainstream stuff. Music helps as well, it’s all about your surroundings. 5. Have you got a favourite conspiracy? - Other than laughing at the ridiculous fake moon landing stuff, I’ve always found the theory that the government killed Marilyn Monroe to be really interesting. I don’t believe it, but the idea that a woman in the 60’s became so powerful that presidents buckled at her will and the government feared her, is awesome. 6. Who or what has been your biggest source of inspiration? - I think I’ve had different inspirations for different times in my life. A few years ago I was really feeling flat and unmotivated, until I found a book that really sparked my imagination and creative drive… It was a defining moment, and a 1970’s Penthouse Portfolio. Everything about it; the women, the colours, the paper…. Everything was so beautiful… It’s my main source of inspiration. I even use it to create collages from some of the elements, combining them with my film photography. Oh… And the film Paris, Texas. Name me a scene more beautiful than when she finally recognises him in the booth. 7. What music are you listening to right now? - Playlist - ‘Cosmic Disco, Balearic Boogie & Slow Jams’ on Spotify, Album - ‘Blonde’ by Frank Ocean Go-To Banger – ‘Bitch Don’t Kill my Vibe’ Kendrick Lamar or ‘Maggie May’ by Rob Stewart Live gig – Twin Peaks, they had such a Rolling Stones vibe live’ 8. What’s been the best piece of advice you've ever been given and who gave it to you? - My Nana told me not to settle young, to change scenery when ever you are feeling stuck in your house/city/job, to generally keep up with your drive… And if your job and relationships keep you inspired its okay to sick around as long as you like, no matter what age. But also when David Bowie told me via secret private video message (Definitely not VIA YouTube interview) "Never work for other people...always, always remember that the reason that you initially started working was that there was something inside yourself that you felt, that if you could manifest it in some way, you would understand more about yourself and how you co-exist with the rest of society... And the other thing I would say is that if you feel safe in the area that you're working in, you're not working in the right area. Always go a little further into the water than you feel you're capable of being in. Go a little bit out of your depth and when you don't feel that you're feet are quite touching the bottom, you're just about in the right place to do something exciting."

_______________________________________________ 'Yesterday Is Here' Photography - Simone Taylor Model - Sinead Curry Wardrobe - Tuesday VTG Words ♡ Danni Jackson @dannijack


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page